Local Government Representatives

Local Representatives


City Council's duties under the City Charter include approval of the Annual Budget and oversight of the financial affairs of the City. The City Council has the power to adopt ordinances and resolutions, make appointments to advisory boards and commissions, establish policy and approve programs, act on program and administrative recommendations of City staff, appropriate funds and approve contracts, and respond to concerns and needs of residents.

The Mayor presides over the City Council meetings, which are held weekly in open public session in the Council Chambers. Together, the City Council and the Mayor establish policy, approve programs, and oversee the financial affairs of the City to govern Santa Barbara. They also appoint the City Administrator and the City Attorney, as well as serve as the Board Members of the Redevelopment Agency. Individually, Councilmembers may represent the City by serving on state and regional boards and local civic organizations. Click here for the SB City website and list of current council members.


The Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Barbara is comprised of five elected officials representing each of the five supervisory districts in the County. Each board member is elected for a four-year term. The position of Chairperson rotates annually among the five members.

The Board generally convenes in regular sessions on several Tuesdays each month, with the second Tuesday meeting of the month held in Santa Maria. The Board sets policy for County departments, oversees the County budget, and adopts ordinances on local matters and establishes land-use policies that affect unincorporated areas. Click here for the county website and list of current board members.


The City Council Members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the above elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. The physical address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California 95814. The physical address of the City Clerk's office is 107 West Highway 246, Buellton, California 93427. Click here for the Buellton website and current city council information.


The City of Carpinteria was incorporated on September 28, 1965, as a general law city with an elected five-member City Council, under the council-manager system of local government. The City Council members are the community leaders and policy makers who establish a vision for the City of Carpinteria and who hire the City Manager to carry out policy and ensure that all resident are being equitably served. The City Council members are elected to four year, overlapping terms; elections are held every even numbered year. The Mayor and Vice Mayor are selected by their fellow Council members and customarily serve two-year terms. Click here for the Carpinteria website and list of current city council members.


The City of Goleta has an elected five-person City Council, including a directly-elected Mayor, and is divided into four districts in which registered voters in those districts have the opportunity to elect City Councilmembers from the District in which they live. Click here for the current Goleta City Council.

The City Council is comprised of five members, one (1) Mayor and four (4) Councilmembers. The Mayor and the four members of the City Council are elected for 4-year terms by the electorate. The Mayor presides at Council meetings and serves as the executive and ceremonial host of our city government.

The City Council also serves as the governing board of the Parking Authority, and the Housing Advisory and Appeals Board.


The City of Solvang is a Municipal Corporation and Charter City organized under the Constitution and laws of the State of California, governed by a City Council / City Manager form of government. The City Council is a five-member body comprising four City Council Members, who serve 4-year terms, and a Mayor, who serves a 2-year term.

City Council Members act as the policy-makers for the city, appoint the City Manager and City Attorney, serve on a variety of governmental, quasi-governmental and community committees, and perform ceremonial functions. City Council Members receive monthly compensation and some expense reimbursement.  Click here for the City of Solvang City website and list of current council members.